About Us

Developing GreenTRIP

TransForm secured seed funding from the Bay Area Air Quality Management District's Climate Protection Grant Program and the Rockefeller Foundation. After concluding the pilot test we secured additional funding from the Silicon Valley Community Foundation, Union Bank, Federal Home Loan Bank, Ford Foundation, Lisa and Douglas Goldman Foundation and the Heller Foundation.

The GreenTRIP Advisory Committee got started in 2008 with shaping our certification program standards and process. The Advisory Committee represents a variety of stakeholder groups and expert advisors including: city planners, developers, transportation/development consultants, academics, and transportation agency staff.

Click here to see our All Star GreenTRIP Advisory Committee Roster.

The GreenTRIP Team

Program Director Ann Cheng created TransForm's GreenTRIP certification program from it's inception and oversees development of GreenTRIP Certifications, Research and the proposed Connect online Tool development.  A former El Cerrito mayor and councilmember, Ann specializes in working with communities to modernize transportation and land use planning policies to support transportation choices and keeping the Bay Area affordable to stay in. In March 2014, Ann was recognized by the SF Business Times as a “Top 40 Under 40” leader in her field.

Executive Director Stuart Cohen provides overall program supervision on GreenTRIP Research and GreenTRIP Connect program development. Based largely on GreenTRIP’s work, Stuart received an Ashoka Fellowship and a 2013 James Irvine Foundation Leadership Award.

Program Associate Jennifer West provides certifications and oversees data collection for GreenTRIP Research. Jennifer has a Master's degree in Public Policy from U.C. Berkeley. She is also currently an Emeryville councilmember and was formerly the mayor.

GreenTRIP Planner Jean Long supports certifications and is leading community outreach to stakeholders with GreenTRIP Research. Jean was selected to attend the 2013 Leadership Development Conference in Washington D.C. as an Eno Fellow and has a dual Master's Degree in City and Regional Planning and Engineering – Transportation Planning from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo.

Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee represents a variety of stakeholder groups including: city planners, developers, transportation/development consultants, academics, and transportation agency staff.

Valerie Knepper
Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Gabriella Chiarenza
Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

Megan Kirkeby
California Housing Partnership Corporation

Richard Lee
Fehr and Peers

Pilar Lorenzana-Campo
Non-Profit Housing Association of Northern California

Kathleen Livermore
City of Alameda

Jeffrey Tumlin

Todd Litman
Victoria Transport Policy Institute (VTPI)

Professor Adam Millard-Ball
University of California, Santa Cruz

Aaron Welch
Raimi and Associates

Jeff Wood
The Overhead Wire

Joe DiStefano
Calthorpe Associates

Robert Cunningham
Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority (VTA)

Terry Parker
Caltrans, Retired

Kate White
Co-Founder of City CarShare

Professor Elizabeth Deakin
University of California Berkeley

Curt Johansen
TerraVerde Ventures

Jeff Ordway

Stephanie Reyes
Greenbelt Alliance

Marisa Raya
Association of Bay Area Governments

Marcial Chao
Pyatok Architects

Karen Frick
University of California Berkeley

Technical Committee

Brian Canepa

Ian Peterson
Bay Area Air Quality Management District

Adam Garcia
Greenbelt Alliance

Stephanie Chen
SuperChen.com UX Web Design

Kay Cheng creator of GreenTRIP logo
Urban Designer, City of San Francisco